Minutes of the Clane-Maynooth Municipal District Annual Meeting held on Friday, 28 June 2024 at 2.30pm in the Council Chamber, Áras Chill Dara, Naas, Co Kildare

Members Present:	Councillors T Durkan (Cathaoirleach), W Durkan, A Farrelly, A Feeney, D Fitzpatrick, P Melrose, P McEvoy, N Ó Cearúil, P Ward and B Wyse.
Officials present:	Ms. M Higgins (District Manager), Mr. C. Buggie (District Engineer), Mr. A. Hickey, Ms. S Martin (Meetings Administrator),

Leas-Chathaoirleach A. Feeney took the chair at 2.30pm and advised that a suspension of standing orders was required to allow the meeting to start later than scheduled.

Ms. D Egan (Meetings Secretary) and other officials.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor McEvoy, seconded by Councillor Farrelly and with the agreement of the remaining member present Councillor Melrose, standing orders were suspended for thirty minutes.

Outgoing Cathaoirleach T. Durkan took the chair at 2.45pm. He welcomed everyone to the Annual Meeting of Clane Maynooth Municipal District.

CM01/0624

Declaration of Pecuniary or Beneficial Interests

There were no declarations of (a) conflicts of interest or (b) pecuniary or beneficial interests under section 177 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended.

CM02/0624

Election of Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach T. Durkan invited nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Clane-Maynooth Municipal District.



Kildare County Council

Councillor Feeney proposed Councillor Farrelly, seconded by Councillor McEvoy.

Councillor Ward proposed Councillor Ó Cearúil, seconded by Councillor Fitzpatrick.

As there were two nominations, a vote was taken. Cathaoirleach T. Durkan advised he would be abstaining. He asked for votes for Councillor Farrelly's nomination, four members voted for Councillor Farrelly. He asked for votes for Councillor Ó Cearúil nomination, five members voted for Councillor Ó Cearúil.

With four members voting for Councillor Farrelly and five members voting for Councillor Ó Cearúil, Councillor Ó Cearúil was deemed elected as Cathaoirleach of the Clane-Maynooth Municipal District and was presented with the Chain of Office and took the Chair.

The members congratulated Councillor Ó Cearúil in his new role as Cathaoirleach and looked forward to the year ahead. He thanked the members and looked forward to working together in what he outlined would be a long hard year ahead. He said he looked forward to his part in the Maynooth Local Area Plan and at the same time attending to the normal business of the Municipal District.

CM03/0724

Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Cathaoirleach Ó Cearúil invited nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Clane-Maynooth Municipal District.

Councillor Feeney proposed Councillor Farrelly, seconded by Councillor McEvoy.

Councillor Ward proposed Councillor Fitzpatrick, seconded by Councillor W. Durkan. As there were two nominations, a vote was taken. There were four votes in favour of Councillor Farrelly and six votes in favour of Councillor Fitzpatrick.



Kildare County Council

As there were two nominations, a vote was taken. He asked for votes for Councillor Farrelly's nomination, four members voted for Councillor Farrelly. He asked for votes for Councillor Fitzpatrick's nomination, six members voted for Councillor Fitzpatrick.

Councillor Fitzpatrick was then duly elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Clane-Maynooth Municipal District.

The members congratulated Councillor Fitzpatrick in his new role as Leas-Chathaoirleach and looked forward to the year ahead. The members thanked Councillor Feeney for all her work as Leas-Chathaoirleach over the past year.

CM04/0624

Minutes

The members considered the minutes of the monthly Clane-Maynooth Municipal District meeting held on Friday, 03 May 2024.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Feeney, seconded by Councillor Ward and agreed by the members present that the minutes of the monthly Clane-Maynooth Municipal District meeting held on Friday, 03 May 2024 be taken as read.

CM05/0624

Meetings Calendar

A copy of the meetings calendar for the remainder of 2024 was previously circulated to the members.

Resolved with the agreement of all members, the meetings calendar for the remainder of 2024 was noted.

The meeting concluded.